As A Latina, ‘You Have To Work Harder’

Sotomayor Latina Magazine

“When I was nominated by the president for this position, it became very clear to me that many people in the public were interested in my life and the challenges I had faced,” she tells Fresh Air‘s Terry Gross. “… And I also realized that much of the public perception of who I was and what had happened to me was not quite complete.”

In her memoir, My Beloved World, Sotomayor recounts growing up poor in the South Bronx; living with juvenile diabetes, a chronic disease; being raised by a single mother after her father, who was an alcoholic, died; and struggling to get a good education in spite of the odds. It became a best-seller when it was published last year and has just come out in paperback.

Read the full interview conducted by NPR Books & an excerpt from her memoir here:

http://www.npr.org/2014/01/13/262067546/as-a-latina-sonia-sotomayor-says-you-have-to-work-harder

Posted on January 15, 2014, in Article. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

